Advantage America benefits (social engineering for the holidays)
November 27, 2005
I got a call the other day from an organization calling itself Advantage America Benefits (AdvantageAmericaBenifits.com).
While he spoke decent English, the man I talked to had an accent that
sounded either East Indian or Philipino. He said his name was
“Mark Anderson” that he was working with the Resurgence Department of
the U.S. Government (which does not exist) and he wanted to give me a
$12,500 grant because my family had been selected among of 6,000
families who fit certain criteria. I was, of course immediately
suspicious. While I know the U.S. government does in fact give
grants to qualifying families, I also know that the government is does
not advertise these grants for fear of social indignation.
I asked him lots of questions. All of which he did a great job of
answering. The rudeness was was what kept me on the phone.
In my experience government employees are rude and fed up with life.
I was also impressed that he was able to give a website:
http://advantageamericabenefits.com
Address:
1900 Howell Branch Road
Suite #4-7
Winter Park, FL 32792
Phone:
866-503-7345
I must admit they almost had me until I decided to do a Google search on Advantage American Benefits and stumbled across the Rip Off Report.coms take on Advantage America Benefits.
I've read on the Rip Off Report that these guys are from Bali or India, but they maybe in Canada because the IP address is in Canada:
OrgName: Groupe iWeb Technologies inc. OrgID: GIT-20Address: 3185, rue HochelagaCity: MontrealStateProv: QCPostalCode: H1W-1G4Country: CA
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=209.172.34.215
More on Advantage America Benefits grant fraud here.
Popularity: 2% [?]






Comments
Got something to say?